Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

To Fur or not to Fur *invest, that is*

thebadmamajama

Practically Family
So, I found a GORGEOUS black 1930s fur collar/cuff coat for a mere $45 in a vintage shop 'round here. It fits, it's amazing....but I'm concerned about the cleaning costs....anyone know how much a wool/fur coat would cost to clean? I'm a poor poor poor grad student and don't want to buy a lemon in disguise...but it's SO GORGEOUS!!! If I buy, there WILL be photos of this gem....

MissHuff

A-List Customer
At first look at the title I thought this was going to be a debate of whether or not wearing fur is okay. I have mixed feelings on the issue because I have seen some lovely furs in my day and adore them but the other half of me feels bad for the animal. So I try to lean toward the idea that if I get something old then it's not too bad. It already happened years and years ago and the coat or what have you would just go to waste. I don't know I'm not trying to stir anything up.

Along the lines of the cleaning costs. I have looked into this myself because I have come across some fabulous fur items at the Salvation Army but worried about the cleaning and storing it and such. After asking around I got a general consensus of about 50-75 dollars for a cleaning. I don't know what the details of the cleaning are or what prices would be for different styles and furs.

Daisy Buchanan

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I don't know where you are, but I know in Boston I had a full length seal coat professionally cleaned for $100. The price might be lower if you live outside of the city.