Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Repairing a hole not a rip...

I've done my feeble search attempts to no results... sorry if this has been covered & appreciate links to existing threads...

I have a goatskin civilian A-2 that has a hole in the sleeve. This is not a rip so that I have edges to work with but a hole with missing leather. It looks like the previous owner slid on his elbow & wore off a patch. Any recommendations on a DIY fix? Are any of the leather repair kits worth trying? I don't have much invested but would like to clean this up if possible & practical. TIA

PS - I also have a vintage Sears cafe racer jacket that needs the pocket zippers repaired/replaced. The pulls are gone. Thinking of taking the zippers totally out. Thoughts?

Silver Dollar

Practically Family
I'm not a repair expert but the only thing I can think of is to open the lining somewhere in the arm that can be resewn without being seen. Then thin the leather around the holes so the edge is superthin. Then with a glue like Sobo Glue, put in a patch of matching colored leather and feather the hole edges down tightly. Resew the lining and hopefully you have a success. If there is an easier way, better way to do this, I hope that one of our jacket experts will weigh in here.

Seb Lucas

I'll Lock Up
What I've generally seen in such repairs is this.

Get someone with sewing skills to stitch a patch of matching leather at the back of the hole - behind the lining. If done neatly, it looks okay. Glue can dry hard and make the sleeve look strange, and it tends to come loose.

EVEN-STEVEN

One of the Regulars
Another solution...

Leave the hole alone.

Hole = character!

Every hole tells a story. Make up a good one. ;)

Silver Dollar

Practically Family
Seb Lucas said:
What I've generally seen in such repairs is this.