Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

"New styled" Fedoras

Deafjeff

Familiar Face
Hi there! First off I would like to say I'm new to the Lounge so if this has been extensively covered elsewhere I apologize in advance. I love this site and have been on it long enough to guess some of you guys won't be thrilled to hear this but...the only fedora I currently own is one of the new styled trilby fedoras. But theres a reason! I'm a senior in high school and have to balance my budget with such things as college money and money for when my friends and I go out and getting gifts for my girlfriend amongst other things. I can't afford a really nice fedora at the moment although I do badly want one to go with my assortment of suits and trench coats. So I was wondering what you good people thought about it. I see it as a step in the right direction and a small step towards owning a "true" classic looking fedora. My current one is fairly large and a good hat but has nothing on fur felt fedoras. Do you guys think its a step toward the real deal and a good choice until I have the funds for a fur felt or should I have just saved my money until I could buy a "real" fedora?

Oldsarge

One Too Many
Jeff, at your age the currently fashionable stingy brims are fine. Don't be in any hurry to upgrade your wardrobe with anything expensive. Ebay, thrift shops and relatives exist for the purpose of improving your attire without busting the budget. For my nephews last birthday, I upgraded his hat collection with a very decent panama (it was August). Next year I'll get him an Akubra. That way he doesn't have to choose between gas to get to work and new clothes!:D

Deafjeff

Familiar Face