Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Need to fix slight scuff on shoes

bbshriver

One of the Regulars
I work as a test engineer (read: I occasionally do hands-on work) and recently scuffed the toe on my newest dress shoes... I tried to just polish it out, but of course the polish stuck better in the scuffed area, so it shows up pretty well.

Any ideas on how to correct this? The shoes had a very smooth surface originally. I'm considering using some 2000 grit emory paper or something to get them uniformally "scuffed" but not sure if that's going to make things worse or better... These are nearly new (had them about 3 months) so I don't want to risk messing them up.

HeyMoe

Practically Family
you can "bone it".

I learned this from a WWII vet and it does work. Take your shoe brush and flip it over so you are using the wood side on the leather. follow the "grain of the scuff" if you will going in the opposite direction of the scuff. Don't be shy about it - use firm fast buffs and it will pack the pulled up bits of leather back into the scuffed area and after some polishing it will look pretty close to new.

Last edited:

Bruce Wayne

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I have gotten lucky once by having a pair of shoes with scuff on each that was recieved in the back seat of a Chicago taxi professionally buffed. Take the shoes to a cobbler & with his power tools they could probally buff the shoes to the pint of looking like patent leather. It should only cost three of four dollars per pair of shoes.

bbshriver

One of the Regulars
I don't know any local/good cobblers, or even how I would go about looking for them...

I like the backside of the brush idea, I might give that a try before trying the sandpaper route.

bbshriver

One of the Regulars
Here you go.