Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

How do these hats fit me?

frenchgentleman

New in Town
Hi everybody!

It's my first post, but I've been visiting the forum for a few months. So let's introduce myself!

I'm French, and live in France. I've always loved hats, but only began to wear one in January 2009. It has not been always easy, because I'm young and classic felt hats are not really fashion in Paris for a man in his early twenties.

I would like to know what you think about two of my hats, especially the crown height and the brim width. Do you think they fit me well or not ? And why ?

The first is a vintage Fléchet (late thirties or early forties, and it would need a little reshaping), in a dark blue color, with an off-white satin-lining:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/46026440@N08/4218945874/in/photostream/

The second is the fedora I wear most of the time, when it's rainy or snowy, it's black, and has no satin lining nor brand name:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/46026440@N08/4218945998/in/photostream/

Mr. Paladin

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Welcome to the Lounge sir! Great to have a new enthusiast. I like both of the hats you posted. The Flechet has an excellent non-tapered crown and I like the looks of that style. The second hat looks very good on you as well and might be the best one to ease into hat wearing as it appears to be a bit more modern (if any fedora can be said to be modern) and possibly more acceptable to others in your circle until theose people get accustomed to seeing you in a hat. Good luck and keep posting on the Lounge!

scottyrocks

I'll Lock Up
Hi and welcome, FG, to the FL.