Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Besides English, What Languages Do You Speak?

Besides English, What Languages Do You Speak?

• Total voters

Widebrim

I'll Lock Up
I don't think that we've asked this question before of our Loungers, so here goes...

Besides English (which all of us have to know to a certain degree in order to participate here...), what other languages are you at least somewhat proficient at? (By somewhat proficient, I mean able to say a bit more than just "Where is the restroom?")

For myself, I speak Spanish (particularly Castilian, Cuban, and north-west Mexican dialects). I can understand quite a bit of Italian (which I studied a little in college) and European Portuguese, but am not nearly proficient in either.:( Can speak small amounts of Arabic, Armenian, and Tagalog...

Last edited:

Mr. Hallack

One of the Regulars
I'm learning Mainah, but my wife says since I'm from away I'll never speak like a local!! :D

Otherwise no other languages, studied spanish, but not good at it. But something you said Widebrim reminded me of my father. He spoke fluent Spanish, but spoke it with an American accent.

Pompidou

One Too Many
I took enough years of French - four courses in college, two in high school and one in junior high - to be able to read and write it well, but time has eroded my ability to speak it very fluently. To be more specific, it takes me a while to remember the vocabulary, because I graduated college in 03 and haven't spoken it since.

Harp

I'll Lock Up
I took enough years of French- to be able to read and write it well, but time has eroded my ability to speak it very fluently.

I haven't spoken French since the Army-except when I flirt with a certain lovely Irish colleen at the office-