Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

$1 Ecuadorian Supernatural at Flea Market

raycharles

New in Town
I don't know anything about hats but I thought this hat had a special weave so I bought it for $1. A few days later, I brought it to a local hat store to have it cleaned and formed.

He told me that if this hat was in mint condition it could be worth a lot of money. I asked if he were kidding and he said he was not. He showed me where the weaving started on the top of the hat and and that it was all done by hand.

The label inside the hat says, "Ecuadorian Supernatural" with a picture of a Conquistador. Inside is also written "Baskin". I don't know what that stands for.

If anyone has any comments on the hat or opinions on values, please let me know. I am totally new to this and am just curious.

See pictures of the hat at http://www.rayistre.com/links.html

Thanks,
Ray

Vermifuge

One of the Regulars
Looking at the weave it does look like a hat of "Super fino" or even "Fino fino" quality. Be sure and check out this site. Can you post some pictures of the brim of the hat? Take one of each side so we can see how they finished the weave. does it look anything like this?

Panama-hat-Edge.jpg

Razzman

One Too Many
If you can take a close-up photograph with a ruler in place. Lay the ruler on the hat at a couple of different spots so that a close-up will show the weave and increments of measurement. Somebody here at the Lounge, I'm sure can tell you if you snagged a good one. It is a nice looking hat. Congratulations:eusa_clap For a buck, you can't go wrong no matter what it turns out to be.

Art Fawcett

Sponsoring Affiliate
Welcome to the Lounge Ray!!!